Caleb Douglas Named to Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List

by | Aug 17, 2023 | 0 comments

TYLER, Texas – Gators wide receiver Caleb Douglas was named to the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose award watch list, the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler announced Thursday afternoon.
The Missouri City, Texas native played in eight games his freshman year, including three starts, and hauled in 10 receptions for 175 yards with two touchdowns. Douglas made his first-career start versus South Carolina, becoming the first true freshman to start at wide receiver since Kadarius Toney (Oct. 17, 2017 vs. LSU). His 53 yards were the most by a UF WR in his first start since Josh Hammond’s 72 against North Texas (Sept. 17, 2016).
Heading into his second season, Douglas says, “Honestly, I feel like I am 4D player because I feel like I know all aspects of the game now. I’m in my second year. I’ve got more comfortable and everything is slowed down, so I feel like I’m out there just playing now.”

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically, tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or currently playing at Texas D1 four-year college.
The watch list announced today will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to 5 finalists in Decembers. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and previous winners. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Banquet scheduled for Jan. 10, 2024.
Douglas’ appearance on the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list is the seventh among Florida player this preseason.
2023 Florida Football Watch List
Maxwell Award
Ricky Pearsall
Ray Guy Award
Jeremy Crawshaw
Wuerffel Trophy
Derek Wingo
Paul Hornung Award
Trevor Etienne
Chuck Bednarik Award
Princely Umanmielen
Lombardi Award
Princely Umanmielen
Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award
Caleb Douglas

The Latest


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *